The Stockpile: A Housewife’s Dream

Remember when I told you about the easy way I coupon? Here’s why I do it:

wpid-Snapchat-20131007041649-1.jpg

Do you do laundry? Because if you do, then you use laundry detergent. In the picture above, there are nine bottles of Purex. At Wal-Mart, they are $2.98 a piece (Walgreens is over $5).

Do you know how much I paid for 9?

$1.50.

Yes, you read that correctly. I paid less for 9 bottles with couponing than I would have paid for one. (The relish was free, I paid $4 for all the deodorant).

But the part I’m trying to get across here, is that I now have about 300 loads worth of detergent that I got for less than a 33 load bottle costs. I won’t have to run out to the store to grab some because I’m running low. And really, that’s the best part about couponing. Always having that security of knowing that you have what you need.

wpid-20131008_124737.jpg

A lot of people look at stockpiling as crazy. (“My family of 3 would never use 40 bottles of detergent! Why would I buy that many?!”) Guess what? Detergent doesn’t go bad. Neither do free toothbrushes, floss, or razors. And unless you are a very smelly, unhygienic cave man, I can bet that you’ll eventually use up all of those. So if you buy 40 bottles now, you’ll pretty well be set for a long while. And it’s much nicer to pay $20 and get it in a large quantity than to spend $120 to buy the same amount one bottle at a time.

While some hygiene products will eventually be not as good, it takes a long time for them to get there, and even longer when they aren’t opened yet.

And it isn’t just cleaning products and personal care. You can stockpile anything. Canned goods, cling wrap, you name it, you can coupon and stockpile it.

Another thing that you should keep in mind is that even if you don’t think you’ll use all of an item, if it is free or dirt cheap you can always get it and donate it to a local church or shelter to help others in need.

wpid-Snapchat-20131118064245.jpg

I wouldn’t call myself an extreme couponer, by any means. I’m just a housewife that wants to provide for my family. Since I don’t make an income, the best I can do is to spend less money and get more for my dollar.

And while couponing what you need right now will save you money, it doesn’t give you any security.

If my husband were to lose his job tomorrow, or get his hours cut back, I wouldn’t have to worry about how we were going to afford shampoo, or razors, or detergent. We have it. We can spend that money on more important things, like food or bills, because we already have everything else we need.

It’s really all about having security. (Plus it’s pretty cool to have your own mini mart).

Happy stockpiling!

Do you stockpile? Answer in the comments below!

7 thoughts on “The Stockpile: A Housewife’s Dream

  1. I don’t stockpile but I do try hard to stay one ahead of most things. When I open a new box of zip lock bags, I put it on my shopping list. When I notice something is getting low, I put it on my list. So when we run out, there’s usually another one in the pantry. I’ve considered stockpiling but just haven’t gotten around to it.

  2. Pingback: Couponing…Without the Craziness. | Housewife Me

Leave a Reply

