How I Conquered the Laundry and Became Pile Sober

washerdryer

I love doing laundry.

*gasp!*

I mean it. I love doing it. I love putting it in the washer, transferring it to the dryer, and throwing it on the bed in a warm, clean-smelling mound. Unfortunately, that’s where my enjoyment ends. Folding it? Pfft. And completely forget about putting it away. It’s not that it is difficult, but for some reason I just have a huge mental block to completely finishing the task. A lot of the time, my husband and I have found ourselves digging in a huge pile for a towel, a pair of underwear, or a shirt. If we’re lucky, we are able to find one at the bottom, wrinkled almost beyond recognition. It had just become habit to let it all stack up.

It was driving me nuts. It was driving my husband nuts. It was pure pile-jumping-in ecstasy for my kids. It had to change.

But how?

To be perfectly honest, I’m dying for an organization system like this, but that’s not going to happen any time soon. So, I figured out a different way.

I dived right in, getting ALL the laundry done in one day. Every last sock was clean. And, against my nature and through sheer force of will, I managed to get everything folded, put away, and hung up.

foldedtowels

With a clean slate, I created a mastermind plan. I have a small round laundry basket. This officially became the dirty clothes basket (though giving it an official name doesn’t prevent my husband from throwing his dirty clothes one foot away from it). When the dirty clothes reach the rim of the basket, I do a load of laundry. As soon as it is done drying, I sort it into kids’ clothes, shirts, pants, towels, etc. Then, I fold each category individually and put it away.

But here’s the key: I don’t start another load until the first one is completely finished. So if I don’t hang the shirts up from the first load, I don’t start a second load yet. If the towels are folded but still sitting on my bed, I don’t start a second load yet. This helps prevent the pile monster from wreaking havoc on our bedroom floor.

The best part? It relieves me of a huge amount of stress. I’d like to say I’ve been laundry pile sober for a few weeks now. And I don’t plan on turning back.

Happy washing!

How do you stay pile sober? Answer in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

